Lately

WELL. School and life got slightly busy after reading week, clearly. That’ll happen when you realize that the first week of March is done and you have EXACTLY 6 weeks left of school before real life starts! Before I start hyperventilating, here are the YA books I’ve been reading lately for school.

(A quick note- I never read the books marketed to teen girls. I just wasn’t interested! When I was in junior high and high school, J.K.Rowling was pumping out a Harry Potter every year and there was no way I was going to stray from those books. Because of this, I decided to focus on books aimed at teen girls for my assignments)

1. The Girls of No Return by Erin Saldin

A wilderness school for troubled girls; a main character whose never had friends; a two night solo camping trip. Clearly, this book doesn’t end well. That being said, I thoroughly enjoyed the true-to-life characters and realistic ending. A win for teen girl fiction!

2. How To Save a Life by Sara Zarr

Well written, with a beautiful portrayal of two girls having to come to terms with terrible events in their lives. That being said, there was something missing from this story. I would still make sure to have a copy on the shelves for girls dealing with teen pregnancy or the death of a parent.

3. If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch

There is nothing realistic about this story of sisters who are found in the woods of Tennessee and brought back to civilization, but I couldn’t put it down. A lighter look at parental kidnapping, if there’s such a thing.

Leave a Reply

